Nazr Mohammed to accept “Bull of the Year” honor at event benefiting March of Dimes

Nazr Mohammed - photo by Tammie Brown |
Nazr Mohammed – photo by Tammie Brown |

Many of Chicago’s most popular professional athletes will take center stage to receive honors at the 26th Annual Comcast SportsNet Sports Awards presented by Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois benefiting the March of Dimes. The annual reception, dinner & ceremony will be held on Monday, February 10th from 5:00-9:00 PM CT at the Hilton Chicago & Towers, 720 S. Avenue. Over the past 25 years, the Comcast SportsNet Sports Awards has raised over $10 million for the March of Dimes.

The honorees chosen are top athletes from Chicago’s professional teams who have made considerable contributions to their teams, as well as the Chicago community. This year’s honorees include Nazr Mohammed (“Bull of the Year”) – Welington Castillo (“Cub of the Year”) – Nate Jones (“White Sox of the Year”) – Patrick Sharp (“Blackhawk of the Year”) – Martellus Bennett (“Bear of the Year”) – Mike Magee (“Fire of the Year”) – and Stan Mikita (“Lifetime Achievement Award”). For the pinnacle moment of the evening, this year’s March of Dimes “Inspirational Athlete” award winner is 18-year-old Naperville, IL resident/Paralympic swimmer Alyssa Gialamas from Waubonsie Valley H.S. in Aurora, IL. Alyssa has persevered as a standout athlete, student and ambassador, despite being born with a birth defect.

Read full article here.