Connect with us

Kentucky Basketball

DJ Wagner named to 2024 Bob Cousy Award Watch List

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 20 watch-list candidates for the 2024 Bob Cousy Award and DJ Wagner made the list

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 20 watch-list candidates for the 2024 Bob Cousy Award. Named after Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor, now in its 21st year, recognizes the top point guard in Division I men's college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“The point guards that have been named to the 2024 Bob Cousy Award Watch List truly embody the skills and characteristics that made Bob Cousy the ‘Houdini of the Hardwood,'” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. “We look forward to watching their leadership and playmaking abilities take center stage and working alongside Bob Cousy and the selection committee to narrow down the watch list throughout the season.”

2024 Bob Cousy Award Candidates*

Isaiah Stevens

Colorado State

Steven Ashworth


Tyrese Proctor


Ryan Nembhard


Jamal Shead


Dajuan Harris Jr.


DJ Wagner

Tyler Kolek


Jahmir Young


Jahvon Quinerly


Nijel Pack

Miami (Fla.)

RJ Davis

North Carolina

Boo Buie


Ace Baldwin Jr.

Penn State

Judah Mintz


Zakai Zeigler


Max Abmas


Wade Taylor IV

Texas A&M

Tristen Newton


Isaiah Collier


*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2023-24 season.

Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting on Friday, October 27. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2024 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February, to just 5. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee, where a winner will be selected. 

The winner of the 2024 Bob Cousy Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), Karl Malone (Power Forward), and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women's Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Markquis Nowell, Kansas State (2023), Collin Gillespie, Villanova (2022), Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois (2021), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's (2004).

For more information on the 2024 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophallu and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram. 

On This Day In UK Basketball History

On February 21, 1970, No. 2 Kentucky defeated LSU, 121-105.  Dan Issel scored 51 points, Mike Pratt 27 and Tom Parker 18 as UK outgunned LSU star “Pistol Pete” Maravich’s 64-point performance before 9,000 fans in the John Parker Memorial Coliseum.  This was the ultimate shootout between all-time SEC greats Maravich and Issel.


More in Kentucky Basketball

Exit mobile version