Julius Randle named SEC Newcomer of the Year, All-SEC First Team

Julius Randle - photo by Walter Cornett | WildcatWorld.com
Julius Randle – photo by Walter Cornett | WildcatWorld.com

Additional accolades continue to roll in for freshman forward as he added Associated Press Southeastern Conference Newcomer of the Year and first-team All-SEC accolades it was announced on Monday. Randle was one of two players selected unanimously. Classmate James Young was tabbed honorable mention All-SEC by the AP.

Randle is the eighth player in the era to earn both AP and Coaches first team selections to the All-SEC squad. Since 1956, Kentucky players have been honored 31 times by both the AP and Coaches on the All-SEC first team squad.

Randle is averaging team-highs in points per game (15.0) and rebounds per game (10.5) through 34 games this season. He’s logged 20 double-double efforts which ties Davis and Cousins for the most in a single-season in freshman history at Kentucky.

The 20 double-doubles paces the SEC and ranks second nationally. He’s the only freshman in the country to have topped 15 or more double-doubles in 2014. He ranks fourth in single season history at Kentucky with the 20 double-doubles registered.

The freshman forward was one of two players selected unanimously. AP SEC Player of the Year Scottie Wilbekin from was the other player selected on every ballot.

Young is the team’s second leading scorer at 14.5 points per game. He leads the team with 73 made 3-pointers on the season and is just the second freshman in school history to knock down at least 70 long balls in a season. The Rochester Hills, Mich., native was a second-team All-SEC selection by the league’s coaches.

Since 1992 the following Wildcats have earned selection to both the AP and Coaches first team All-SEC teams: Jamal Mashburn (1992, 1993), Tony Delk (1995, 1996), Antonie Walker (1996), Ron Mercer (1997), Nazr Mohammed (1998), Jamaal Maglorie (2000), Tayshaun Prince (2001, 2002), Keith Bogans (2003), Jodie Meeks (2009), DeMarcus Cousins (2010), John Wall (2010), Brandon Knight (2011), Terrence Jones (2011), Anthony Davis (2012), Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (2012), Nerlens Noel (2013) and Julius Randle (2014).

Kentucky returns to action on Friday, in the second round of the Tournament in St. Louis. UK will face Kansas State at approximately 9:40 p.m. ET. The game will air on and Jim Nantz, Greg Anthony and Tracy Wolfson will have the call.