The Helms Athletic Foundation

Founded in Los Angeles in the mid-1930s by Bill Schroader and Paul Helms, the Helms Foundation researched records to rank the nation’s top teams dating back to 1901. From 1939, when the Tournament started, the Helms and NCAA champions were the same, except for 1939-40-44-54. In addition to its NCAA championship years of 1948, ‘49, ‘51, ‘58, ‘78 ’96 and ‘98, was named the Helms National Champion in 1933 (20-3) and 1954 (25-0).

players Forest Sale (1933) and Leroy Edwards (1935) were named Helms National Players of the Year.