1957-1958 Kentucky Basketball Statistics

Record: 23-6 (12-2, 1st in SEC)
Rank: 9th in the Final AP Poll
Coach: Adolph Rupp

Tournament:
Won Mideast Regional Semifinal (94-70) versus Miami (OH)
Won Mideast Regional Final (89-56) versus Notre Dame
Won National Semifinal (61-60) versus Temple
Won National Final (84-72) versus 

Team – Per Game

  G MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
Team 29   28.7 77 0.373 17.3 23.4 0.738 53.9         16.3 74.7
Opponent 29   23.8 67.1 0.355 15.1 21.9 0.688 42.3         17 62.7

 

Team – Totals

  G MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
Team 29   832 2233 0.373 502 680 0.738 1562         474 2166
Opponent 29   690 1945 0.355 437 635 0.688 1227         494 1817

 

Individual – Per Game

Rk Player G GS MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
1 29     6.6 15.8 0.419 3.9 5 0.778 5         2 17.1
2 Johnny Cox 29     6 16.2 0.367 3 4 0.748 12.6         2.3 14.9
3 John Crigler 28     5.8 14.3 0.405 2.1 2.9 0.707 9.9         2.6 13.6
4 Adrian Smith 29     4.1 11 0.371 4.3 5.6 0.765 3.5         2.9 12.4
5 Ed Beck 29     2.1 7.6 0.283 1.3 1.9 0.722 11.6         2.9 5.6
6 Earl Adkins 19     2.1 4.5 0.453 1.2 1.6 0.742 1.5         1.9 5.3
7 Don Mills 20     1.3 5 0.253 1 1.6 0.625 5         1.1 3.5
8 Phil Johnson 22     1.4 4.5 0.306 0.7 1.3 0.517 5.7         1.1 3.4
9 Lowell Hughes 7     1 2.7 0.368 1.3 1.4 0.9 1         0.6 3.3
10 Billy Ray Cassady 14     1.1 2.5 0.429 0.3 0.4 0.667 0.7         0.8 2.4
11 Abe Collinsworth 15     0.4 1.3 0.316 0.7 0.9 0.769 1.1         0.5 1.5
12 Harold Ross 3     0.3 0.7 0.5 0.7 0.7 1 0.3         0.3 1.3
13 Dick Howe 4     0.3 1.3 0.2 0 0   2         0.3 0.5
14 Bill Smith 5     0.2 0.8 0.25 0 0   1.8         0.2 0.4
15 Lincoln Collinsworth                                

 

Individual – Totals

Rk Player G GS MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
1 29     192 458 0.419 112 144 0.778 144         58 496
2 Johnny Cox 29     173 471 0.367 86 115 0.748 365         68 432
3 John Crigler 28     162 400 0.405 58 82 0.707 278         73 382
4 Adrian Smith 29     118 318 0.371 124 162 0.765 101         83 360
5 Ed Beck 29     62 219 0.283 39 54 0.722 337         83 163
6 Earl Adkins 19     39 86 0.453 23 31 0.742 29         37 101
7 Phil Johnson 22     30 98 0.306 15 29 0.517 126         24 75
8 Don Mills 20     25 99 0.253 20 32 0.625 99         21 70
9 Billy Ray Cassady 14     15 35 0.429 4 6 0.667 10         11 34
10 Lowell Hughes 7     7 19 0.368 9 10 0.9 7         4 23
11 Abe Collinsworth 15     6 19 0.316 10 13 0.769 17         8 22
12 Harold Ross 3     1 2 0.5 2 2 1 1         1 4
13 Dick Howe 4     1 5 0.2 0 0   8         1 2
14 Bill Smith 5     1 4 0.25 0 0   9         1 2
15 Lincoln Collinsworth                                
  School Totals 29     832 2233 0.373 502 680 0.738 1562         474 2166

 

Schedule and Results

G Date Type   Opponent Conf   Tm Opp OT W L Streak Arena
1 Mon, Dec 2, 1957 REG   Duke ACC W 78 74   1 0 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
2 Wed, Dec 4, 1957 REG @ Ohio State Big Ten W 61 54   2 0 W 2 St. John Arena
3 Sat, Dec 7, 1957 REG   Temple Ind W 85 83 3OT 3 0 W 3 Memorial Coliseum
4 Mon, Dec 9, 1957 REG @ Maryland ACC L 62 71   3 1 L 1 Cole Fieldhouse
5 Sat, Dec 14, 1957 REG @ Saint Louis (9) MVC W 73 60   4 1 W 1 Kiel Auditorium
6 Mon, Dec 16, 1957 REG @ Southern Methodist SWC L 64 65   4 2 L 1 Moody Coliseum
7 Fri, Dec 20, 1957 REG   West Virginia (8) Southern L 70 77   4 3 L 2 Memorial Coliseum
8 Sat, Dec 21, 1957 REG   Minnesota (10) Big Ten W 78 58   5 3 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
9 Mon, Dec 23, 1957 REG   Utah State MSAC W 92 64   6 3 W 2 Memorial Coliseum
10 Mon, Dec 30, 1957 REG   Loyola (IL) Ind W 75 42   7 3 W 3 Memorial Coliseum
11 Sat, Jan 4, 1958 REG   Tech SEC W 76 60   8 3 W 4 Memorial Coliseum
12 Mon, Jan 6, 1958 REG @ SEC W 86 81   9 3 W 5 Memorial Gymnasium
13 Sat, Jan 11, 1958 REG   Louisiana State SEC W 97 52   10 3 W 6 Memorial Coliseum
14 Mon, Jan 13, 1958 REG   Tulane SEC W 86 50   11 3 W 7 Memorial Coliseum
15 Sat, Jan 18, 1958 REG   Tennessee (13) SEC W 77 68   12 3 W 8 Memorial Coliseum
16 Mon, Jan 27, 1958 REG @ Tech SEC L 52 71   12 4 L 1 Alexander Memorial Coliseum
17 Wed, Jan 29, 1958 REG @ SEC W 74 55   13 4 W 1 Alexander Memorial Coliseum
18 Fri, Jan 31, 1958 REG @ Florida SEC W 78 56   14 4 W 2 Florida Gymnasium
19 Sat, Feb 8, 1958 REG   Mississippi SEC W 96 65   15 4 W 3 Memorial Coliseum
20 Mon, Feb 10, 1958 REG   Mississippi State (18) SEC W 72 62   16 4 W 4 Memorial Coliseum
21 Sat, Feb 15, 1958 REG @ Loyola (IL) Ind L 56 57   16 5 L 1 Chicago Stadium
22 Mon, Feb 17, 1958 REG   SEC W 65 61   17 5 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
23 Sat, Feb 22, 1958 REG @ Alabama SEC W 45 43 OT 18 5 W 2 Garrett Coliseum
24 Mon, Feb 24, 1958 REG @ Auburn (20) SEC L 63 64   18 6 L 1 Birmingham City Auditorium
25 Sat, Mar 1, 1958 REG @ Tennessee SEC W 77 66   19 6 W 1 Alumni Memorial Gymnasium
26 Fri, Mar 14, 1958 NCAA N Miami (OH) MAC W 94 70   20 6 W 2 Memorial Coliseum
27 Sat, Mar 15, 1958 NCAA N Notre Dame (8) Ind W 89 56   21 6 W 3 Memorial Coliseum
28 Fri, Mar 21, 1958 NCAA N Temple (5) Ind W 61 60   22 6 W 4 Freedom Hall
29 Sat, Mar 22, 1958 NCAA N  (18) Ind W 84 72   23 6 W 5 Freedom Hall