Connect with us

Justin Edwards Named to 2024 Julius Erving Award Watch List

Justin Edwards has been named to the 20 member watch-list for the 2024 Julius Erving Award the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 20 watch-list members for the 2024 Julius Erving Award. Named after Class of 1993 Hall of Famer and 16-year professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor, in its tenth year, recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men's college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“As the 2023-24 season approaches, we are excited to watch the small forwards on the 2024 Julius Erving Award Watch List take the court and prove why we have selected them as the Top 20 to watch this season,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. “We are honored to have the great ‘Dr. J' assist our selection committee as they evaluate these student-athletes throughout the season.” 

2024 Julius Erving Award Candidates* 





Jalen Bridges


David Joplin


Jaylon Tyson


Matthew Cleveland

Miami (Fla.)

Baylor Scheierman


Coen Carr

Michigan State

Tucker DeVries


Harrison Ingram

North Carolina

Mark Mitchell


Jamison Battle

Ohio State

Anton Watson


Glenn Taylor Jr.

St. John's

Payton Sandfort


Dalton Knecht


Johnny Furphy


Tyler Burton


Arthur Kaluma

Kansas State

Dillon Jones

Weber State

Tyler Wahl


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2023-24 season.

Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds beginning Friday, October 27. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2024 Julius Erving Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February, to just five. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Erving and the Hall of Fame's selection committee, where a winner will be selected. 

The winner of the 2024 Julius Erving Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard), Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Karl Malone Award (Power Forward), and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women's Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Julius Erving Award are Jalen Wilson, Kansas (2023), Wendell Moore Jr., Duke (2022), Corey Kispert, Gonzaga (2021), Saddiq Bey, Villanova (2020), Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga (2019), Mikal Bridges, Villanova (2018), Josh Hart, Villanova (2017), Denzel Valentine, Michigan State (2016), and Stanley Johnson, Arizona (2015).

For more information on the 2024 Julius Erving Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophallu and #ErvingAward on Twitter and Instagram. 

More in Kentucky Basketball