1971-1972 Kentucky Basketball Statistics

Record: 21-7 (14-4, 1st in SEC)
Rank: 18th in the Final AP Poll
Coach: Adolph Rupp

NCAA Tournament:
Won Mideast Regional Semifinal (85-69) versus Marquette
Lost Mideast Regional Final (73-54) versus Florida State

Team – Per Game

  G MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
Team 28   32.7 66.6 .491 17.1 23.4 .731 43.4 14.0       17.2 82.5
Opponent 28   30.0 67.3 .446 14.8 22.5 .659 41.8 9.8       18.0 74.8
 

Team – Totals

  G MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
Team 28   916 1866 .491 479 655 .731 1214 392       481 2311
Opponent 28   839 1883 .446 415 630 .659 1171 275       505 2093

Individual – Per Game

Rk Player G GS MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
1 Jim Andrews 28   36.3 8.4 14.6 .577 4.6 6.6 .699 11.3 2.5       3.0 21.5
2 Tom Parker 27   37.9 7.5 15.9 .473 3.0 3.7 .792 10.0 3.0       2.2 18.0
3 Ronnie Lyons 26   33.0 5.3 11.8 .445 2.7 3.1 .875 2.1 2.5       2.6 13.2
4 Stan Key 28   34.5 4.8 9.6 .502 2.9 3.4 .833 2.4 3.2       2.9 12.5
5 28   35.3 3.7 8.8 .424 2.9 4.5 .635 10.2 1.4       3.1 10.3
6 Kent Hollenbeck 5   6.8 2.2 3.2 .688 1.0 1.6 .625 0.6 0.6       1.0 5.4
7 Bob McCowan 26   15.0 1.6 3.7 .442 0.6 0.8 .682 1.5 1.3       1.8 3.8
8 Rick Drewitz 24   9.7 1.3 2.4 .552 0.4 0.7 .529 2.0 0.3       1.1 3.0
9 Larry Miller 1   2.0 1.0 1.0 1.000 0.0 0.0   0.0 0.0       0.0 2.0
10 Elmore Stephens 6   4.5 0.7 1.0 .667 0.5 1.0 .500 1.5 0.0       0.3 1.8
11 Darryl Bishop 5   4.2 0.8 1.4 .571 0.0 0.2 .000 0.6 0.4       0.4 1.6
12 G.J. Smith 2   1.5 0.5 0.5 1.000 0.0 0.0   0.0 0.5       1.0 1.0
13 Ray Edelman 13   4.3 0.2 0.7 .333 0.4 0.8 .500 0.4 0.3       0.5 0.8
14 Dan Perry 10   5.3 0.3 1.3 .231 0.2 0.2 1.000 0.8 0.1       0.7 0.8
15 Kirk Chiles 1   2.0 0.0 0.0   0.0 0.0   0.0 0.0       0.0 0.0
16 Wendell Lyons 1   3.0 0.0 0.0   0.0 0.0   2.0 0.0       3.0 0.0

Individual – Totals

Rk Player G GS MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
1 Jim Andrews 28   1017 236 409 .577 130 186 .699 315 70       84 602
2 Tom Parker 27   1023 203 429 .473 80 101 .792 270 80       60 486
3 Stan Key 28   966 135 269 .502 80 96 .833 66 89       82 350
4 Ronnie Lyons 26   859 137 308 .445 70 80 .875 55 64       67 344
5 28   987 104 245 .424 80 126 .635 286 38       86 288
6 Bob McCowan 26   390 42 95 .442 15 22 .682 38 34       48 99
7 Rick Drewitz 24   233 32 58 .552 9 17 .529 47 6       26 73
8 Kent Hollenbeck 5   34 11 16 .688 5 8 .625 3 3       5 27
9 Ray Edelman 13   56 3 9 .333 5 10 .500 5 4       7 11
10 Elmore Stephens 6   27 4 6 .667 3 6 .500 9 0       2 11
11 Darryl Bishop 5   21 4 7 .571 0 1 .000 3 2       2 8
12 Dan Perry 10   53 3 13 .231 2 2 1.000 8 1       7 8
13 Larry Miller 1   2 1 1 1.000 0 0   0 0       0 2
14 G.J. Smith 2   3 1 1 1.000 0 0   0 1       2 2
15 Kirk Chiles 1   2 0 0   0 0   0 0       0 0
16 Wendell Lyons 1   3 0 0   0 0   2 0       3 0
  School Totals 28     916 1866 .491 479 655 .731 1214 392       481 2311

Schedule and Results

G Date Type   Opponent Conf   Tm Opp OT W L Streak Arena
1 Wed, Dec 1, 1971 REG   Northwestern Big Ten W 94 85   1 0 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
2 Sat, Dec 4, 1971 REG @ Kansas (14) Big 8 W 79 69   2 0 W 2 Allen Fieldhouse
3 Mon, Dec 6, 1971 REG @ Big 8 W 71 64   3 0 W 3 Ahearn Field House
4 Sat, Dec 11, 1971 REG N Big Ten L 89 90 2OT 3 1 L 1 Freedom Hall
5 Mon, Dec 13, 1971 REG   Michigan State Big Ten L 85 91   3 2 L 2 Memorial Coliseum
6 Fri, Dec 17, 1971 REG   Missouri Big 8 W 83 79   4 2 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
7 Sat, Dec 18, 1971 REG   Princeton (18) Ivy W 96 82   5 2 W 2 Memorial Coliseum
8 Tue, Dec 28, 1971 REG N Notre Dame Ind W 83 67   6 2 W 3 Freedom Hall
9 Sat, Jan 8, 1972 REG   Mississippi SEC W 93 82   7 2 W 4 Memorial Coliseum
10 Mon, Jan 10, 1972 REG   SEC W 104 76   8 2 W 5 Memorial Coliseum
11 Sat, Jan 15, 1972 REG @ Florida SEC L 70 72   8 3 L 1 Florida Gymnasium
12 Mon, Jan 17, 1972 REG @ Georgia SEC L 73 85   8 4 L 2 Stegeman Coliseum
13 Sat, Jan 22, 1972 REG   Tennessee (19) SEC W 72 70   9 4 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
14 Mon, Jan 24, 1972 REG   Vanderbilt SEC W 106 80   10 4 W 2 Memorial Coliseum
15 Sat, Jan 29, 1972 REG   Louisiana State SEC W 89 71   11 4 W 3 Memorial Coliseum
16 Mon, Jan 31, 1972 REG   SEC W 77 74   12 4 W 4 Memorial Coliseum
17 Sat, Feb 5, 1972 REG @ Vanderbilt SEC W 85 80   13 4 W 5 Memorial Gymnasium
18 Mon, Feb 7, 1972 REG @ SEC W 78 72   14 4 W 6 Beard-Eaves-Memorial
19 Sat, Feb 12, 1972 REG @ Mississippi SEC W 90 82   15 4 W 7 C.M. Tad Smith Coliseum
20 Mon, Feb 14, 1972 REG @ SEC W 63 55   16 4 W 8 McCarthy Gymnasium
21 Sat, Feb 19, 1972 REG   Florida SEC W 95 68   17 4 W 9 Memorial Coliseum
22 Mon, Feb 21, 1972 REG   Georgia SEC W 87 63   18 4 W 10 Memorial Coliseum
23 Sat, Feb 26, 1972 REG @ Louisiana State SEC L 71 88   18 5 L 1 Maravich Assembly Center
24 Mon, Feb 28, 1972 REG @ SEC L 70 73   18 6 L 2 Coleman Coliseum
25 Mon, Mar 6, 1972 REG   SEC W 102 67   19 6 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
26 Thu, Mar 9, 1972 REG @ Tennessee SEC W 67 66   20 6 W 2 Stokely Center
G Date Type   Opponent Conf   Tm Opp OT W L Streak Arena
27 Thu, Mar 16, 1972 NCAA N Marquette (7) Ind W 85 69   21 6 W 3 University of Dayton Arena
28 Sat, Mar 18, 1972 NCAA N Florida State (10) Ind L 54 73   21 7 L 1 University of Dayton Arena