Patrick Patterson: unanimous selection to the eight-man preseason Coaches’ All-SEC team

Here is the official release from the SEC:


BIRMINGHAM — The Southeastern Conference unveiled its sixth annual men’s basketball coaches preseason All-SEC first and second teams Monday, tipping off another great season of SEC men’s basketball.


Twenty-seven different players received votes for the teams and Kentucky, Ole Miss, South Carolina and Tennessee led all schools with two selections each. Six of the eight first team selections were unanimous picks. South Carolina’s Devan Downey, LSU’s Tasmin Mitchell, Kentucky’s Patrick Patterson, Tennessee’s Tyler Smith, Mississippi State’s Jarvis Varnado and Ole Miss’ Terrico White were each unanimous picks.


The coaches preseason All-SEC first and second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the SEC Head Men’s Basketball Coaches. No ties were broken and no predicted order of finish was made.


A list of the 2010 SEC Men’s Basketball Coaches Preseason All-SEC team follows.


Devan Downey, South Carolina#G5-9175Sr.Chester, S.C.
Tasmin Mitchell, LSU#F6-7235Sr.Denham Springs, La
A.J. Ogilvy, VanderbiltC6-11250Jr.Sydney, Australia
Patrick Patterson, Kentucky#F6-9235Jr.Huntington, W. Va.
Tyler Smith, Tennessee#G/F6-7215Sr.Brownsville, Tenn
Michael Washington, ArkansasF6-9239Sr.McGehee, Ark
Terrico White, Ole Miss#G6-5211So.Memphis,Tenn.


Dominique Archie, South CarolinaF6-7200Sr.Augusta, Ga.
Wayne Chism, TennesseeF/C6-9246Sr.Jackson, Tenn.
JaMychal Green, AlabamaF6-9220So.Montgomery, Ala.
DeWayne Reed, AuburnG6-1175Sr.Houston, Texas
Trey Thompkins, GeorgiaF6-10247S0.Lithonia, Ga.
Alex Tyus, FloridaF6-8220Jr.St. Louis, Mo.
John Wall, KentuckyG6-4195Fr.Raleigh, N.C.
Chris Warren, Ole MissG5-10165Jr.Orlando, Fla


#-Unanimous Selection
Ties are not broken